Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

The Engineering and Town Planning department is responsible for the provision and maintenance of a range of essential infrastructure and services to uplift the standard of living to the residents of Swakopmund.

The main focus areas are water , sewerage-, purified effluent reticulation, streets, civil engineering and mechanical services, town planning, architectural, building control and parks & gardens, plant and labor services.

The Engineering & Town Planning Department comprises of the following Projects (Sections):

· Building Control and Design Office

· Town Planning

· Works

· Water and Sewer

· Aerodrome

Building Control and Design Office

This Section is responsible to monitor, supervises and coordinates the building activities of Council and private initiated developments within the Municipal boundaries.

Town Planning Section

This Section is responsible to monitor, supervise, coordinate and guide Council and developers on town planning activities, such as land use, applications in terms of the Town Planning Scheme, relevant government statutes on land administration, within the Municipal Boundaries  

Works Section  

This Section is responsible to monitor, supervise, coordinate and maintenance of Council’s road infrastructure, public, building, vehicles and plant fleet, parks, gardens and nursery facility.

Water and Sewer Section

This Section is responsible to monitor, supervise, coordinate, maintenance and operating functionality of Council’s water, sewer and treated effluent infrastructure and facilities and distribution and disposal works.


This Section is responsible for the general operational functions at the Swakopmund Aerodrome. Plans, directs, and coordinates activities concerned with the day-to-day activities on the aerodrome, oversee maintenance, and operation of airport facilities in accordance with the Civil Aviation Act, (Act 6 of 2016), and municipal policies and regulations.

The Engineering and Town Planning Department can be contacted at :

Office                                             (064) 4104400

                                                      (064) 4104420

Building Section                           (064) 4104419

                                                      (064) 4104424

Town Planning Section               (064) 4104421

Work Section                                (064) 4104427

                                                      (064) 4104437

Aerodrome                                   0852233108

Water Section                               0812474787

Standby number                         0811284998

Sewage Section                            0811224653

Standby number                          0811284993